top of page

I'll Show You Mine if You Show Me Yours!

Relax. I’m talking doula bags!

Every birth I go to reveals something “I wish I had” in my doula’s bag of tricks. Last time had me hankerin’ for a digital wrist watch so I could nonchalantly check the time without looking like I had somewhere else to be. So, it got me thinking about asking other doulas about the contents of their bags.

Here are FIVE of my faves:

Rebozo – Hands down my favourite comfort-measure tool to use during late term pregnancy when hip and pelvis pain leaves one aching for mercy. By the time labour begins and the process of birth is in full swing, one can feel like their body will be ripped completely in two! Cue the rebozo for its encore performance on the labour-room Broadway stage. Yes, in all its glory, the rebozo and its therapeutic power alleviates suffering as it can be wrapped tightly to support the pelvis and can be used to sling the weight of the belly to relieve the stretching ligaments and muscles that are normally activated and responsible for bearing the weight. Everybody with me now…. ahhhhhhh It’s THAT good!

Toiletry Kit

  • Deodorant (unscented)

  • Tooth Brush/Paste

  • Hair Elastics/Clips

  • Combs

  • Band-Aids

  • GUM OR MINTS

  • Snacks for quick energy

  • $20 - $40

  • Personal supplies etc.

A handheld fan – very often the birthing person has a fluctuation of temperature during labour and birth so being the one to whip out a fan often results in people gushing over you and calling you “Mary-Frickin-Poppins”! Yes, this dollar store gem is worth every cent!

Change of clothes – right down to an extra pair of gitch! Who knows how long this birth will be, so I always have an extra set of clothes and flip flops or other rubber washable footwear. *I think I just heard the sound of SROM splashing somewhere!

Unscented moisturizing cream – Great for massaging feet, squeezing heals etc. I like to encourage the partner to take the lead and engage in this luxurious treatment for the labouring person. It’s a good way for them to connect and get that oxytocin flowing!

So, there it is, my five favourite must haves – six now if you include my digital watch!

What’s in yours?

Caroline Eibbitt Labour & Birth and Postpartum Doula


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page